Welcome to our members page, here you will find our committee members and a list of active members for 2018.

John Barry

Club President - Mr John Barry - I was first introduced to the game of golf in 1985 by two mates and played my first game at Temple Newsam. They put together a set of mixed golf clubs, gave me a handicap of 28 and I’ve loved the game ever since.
My introduction to Leeds Irish Golf Society was in 1990 when our Chairman Mr. S. Sutton invited me as a guest to attend Moor Allerton Golf Club, for the UIGS Championships, it was a great honour to represent the Irish Centre of which I was Chairman at the time.
Over the years as a member of Leeds Irish Golf Society I have enjoyed playing against other Irish Golf Societies like Manchester, Liverpool, Cleveland, Birmingham and Lincoln to name but a few. I will always remember one of many funny occasions when we played UIGS Championships held at Yarn and I volunteered to drive the coach, trying to get the 12 lads onto the bus was a nightmare, we finally arrived back at Bays Water Road, Harehills at 5am whereby the late Eugene Heffernan got off the bus and attempted a horn pipe in the middle of the road.
In 1998 I was appointed to serve on the golf committee and acted as assistant Secretary to the late great John Byrne. In 2000 I can recall one of my proudest moments was my involvement in organising the UIGS Championships, played at Cobble Hall, and the presentation dinner was held at the Irish Centre.
In 2002 I decided to take a break from golf and returned to Leeds Irish Golf Society in 2011 whereby I currently hold the Secretary’s position now for over 3 years. It’s an honour and privilege to be part of the Leeds Irish Golf Society who has the finest bunch of lads one would ever hope to meet, the spirit in which each game is played, the craic and enjoyment we have is second to none, long may it last.


Honorary Life President - Mr Michael Creeby - Michael has been a member of the Leeds Irish Golf Society since it began. He continues to support the club after all these years and has sponsored the first golf competition of 2016 - St Patricks day.

UIGS Champions 2015 (13)

Club Captain - Mr Sean Cassidy - Sean has been a member of the Leeds irish golf society for many years. Sean was the captain last year pushing the lads on to win the UIGS championships and continues to lead the club into 2016.

2015 St Patricks Day2015 (3)


Chairman - Mr Steve Sutton - More information to follow - site still under construction.

colin mcgrotty LIGS

Competition Secretary - Mr Colin McGrotty - I joined the Leeds irish golf society in 2015 after moving to leeds from Ireland. Chris O'hora passed on this position due to other charity projects he will be working on this year. Great social club and looking forward to 2016!

Leeds Irish Golf Society active members for 2017



1 Adam Clarke   18 Marcus McCarthy
2 Alan Williams   19 Mark Buckley
3 Chris Head   20 Mick Creaby
4 Chris Kilbride   21 Mick Smith
5 Chris O'Hora   22 Mike O'Brien
6 Colin McGrotty   23 Pat Brennan
7 Darren O'Neill   24 Pat Roche
8 Francis Blain   25 Peter Bateman
9 Gerry Enright   26 Peter Foley
10 Graham Parkin   27 Phil Mone
11 Graham Walton   28 Ruairi Cassidy
12 Jim O'Connell   29 Sean Alyward
13 Jim O'Hara   30 Sean Byrne
14 Joe Joyce   31 Sean Cassidy
15 John Barry   32 Steve Sutton
16 John Paul Moriarty   33 Tommy Reape
17 Josh McNeice   34 Vicent Byrne
      35 Wayne Shields